Before and After’s

I think everyone has before and after’s. Events that mark invisible lines of ‘oh that was after so and so’. I feel that these events, good or bad, are so important.

After my heart was first broken by a (oblivious) guy.

After I decided to re shape how I saw the world and how I treated the people around me, for the better.

After I found out my fathers diagnosis MIGHT be hereditary.

These things shape us for better or for worse. They are not excuses for actions or crutches for unsavory behavior; they are chances to stand up, step up, and start again. I will not live my life in a shadow of fear of something that may or may not come to pass. I am not going to let my heart close in on itself again.

And I am not going to let my insecurities hold me back a second longer.

Shouting into the void,

~H

Leave a Reply

